Pleased to Meet You!

Good afternoon, from the desk of Carolyn at the newly, proudly established White Tulip Interiors.  Since beginning WTI in late 2010, I’ve been dying to share my progress and great design finds I have and continue to stumble upon during this wildly unpredictable journey.  I hope you’ll stick around to smile, laugh, and design with me as I blog away.  There are so many things that I enjoy, places I’ve been and want to visit, colors and styles that speak to me, and little happenings that shape my outlook on life.  Never dreaming of hiding any of them, you’ll find all of me here, always.  Embarrassments, mistakes, laughs, accomplishments, swoons, and all.

One of the most important lessons I can share about good design is that it’s not, and never should be, limited to visual aesthetic. Design is more than color, pattern, depth, and all those other elements I won’t bore you with.  It’s about feel. Comfort. Taste. Scent. Music. Family. Food. Conversation. Good design is conveyed through atmosphere. Atmosphere is created from personality. And personality comes from the soul, a happy, free soul.  As I introduce my new blog associated with my design business and personal interests, I hope to bring you all that contributes to a wonderfully pleasant space.

My wonderfully pleasant space is my front porch, overlooking rolling hills, barefoot, with the scent of home-made chicken noodle soup wafting out the door behind me, a glass of cold, sweet lemonade in my hand, a hand-knotted rug beneath my feet, a cozy-cushioned swing with a soft blanket draped to ease a fading spring chill, and an old Sara Evans song playing from the kitchen.  Design is life and all that comes with it.

Leave a Reply

