Mad for Mason Jars

While popping into the grocery store for laundry detergent and fabric softener (I recommend Snuggle which is what my mother in law uses and her home smells amazing), I noticed a flat of mason jars. Completely relevant, I know. With my ever-wandering mind, I realized that I never did write that feature on mason jars as I had hoped to do this summer. Since there are no rules here – and I’d be making them anyway – I’m dragging these summery staples right into fall. Here are a few of my favorite creative uses for mason jars. *Click on images for source and how-to’s where available. xo

Mason Jar as candle, torch, oil-light | via Raised in Cotton

Mason Jars as Planters | via CSI Project

Mason Jars as storage | via Lovely Little Details

Mason Jars as lighting | via Decoratualma

Mason Jars as wedding decor | via Style Me Pretty

Mason (or Pickle, or Salsa) Jars as Kids Storage | via Pinterest

Mason Jars as drinking glasses | via Style Me Pretty

And because these lyrics paint a gorgeous, Southern picture of happiness and life and love:

“An old man and an eight year old boy
Rolling down that midnight highway
Warm Kentucky memories from a winter Georgia night
I started drifting off and Grandpa tucked his coat around me
I think I tried to smile as I slowly closed my eyes
And I dreamed I was with him on the farm
Grandpa, I can hear the evening wind out in the corn
Wild flowers in a mason jar and the bus rolling through the night..”

– John Denver

5 thoughts on “Mad for Mason Jars

  1. Thank you for confirming that others have the same passion for mason jars and I do. Well I collect jars of almost any kind and probably have a jar for any idea that comes to mind. I’m putting my husband on the light idea for the patio!!! My favorite use for 3 pint jars is to hold silverware for parties. changes so easy with any season or theme. We also only use mason jars as drinking glasses as you can always replace a broken one. Thank you again for the new ideas.

    • I’m glad you liked this! Have you seen ‘Mad for Mason Jars Part 2’? Even more! Good luck with your pretty patio decor! We love our patio!!! xo, Carolyn

      • THANK YOU! I did not see it so I am so glad you brought it to my attention, LOVE! LOVE! LOVE! I just found your blog so I have not spent much time going through it yet but plan too. Have you seen the blog Tea & Cookies, I think you would like it… a friend sent it to me last year because they featured a party where the hostess made Sangria in jars with lids and served at a party… I did this for a shower and everyone fell over themselves with the idea. On another note, I see you are an interior designer, not sure where Southern PA is but assuming it’s not to from from Thurmont MD, I am legally blind and have a really hard time with selecting colors and would love to find someone who might be about to help get my colors right and rid these white walls of their lack of personality. Thanks again, I look forward to following your blog.

  2. Pingback: Mason Jar Wedding Ideas | Simply Peachy Wedding Blog

  3. Pingback: Cheap, Easy Organization | a touch of lovely

Leave a Reply

