Kitchens in Blue

Blue is one of my favorite colors in the kitchen. While it’s well-suited for bedrooms and bathrooms for its calming, clean qualities, blue is lovely in the kitchen for these reasons and more. I spend/would like to spend a lot of time in my kitchen so I want it to feel functional, clean, and calm. In smaller kitchens, soft blues can open up the space and enhance natural light. The use of aqua/blue/sea-foam glass tile adds light and dimension. Studies show that blue suppresses or controls appetite rather than encouraging it like orange or red, resulting in fewer trips to the stove for seconds. This might seem odd, but light colors in the kitchen influence me to cook with more vegetables and less breads. Is it because string beans, peas, spinach, blueberries, lettuce, and kiwi are in the same cool-ish color family?

I also happen to prefer warm colors for my cookware: my red Kitchenaid Mixer, my yellow Le Creuset Dutch Oven, warm wood tone salad bowls, cutting boards, and my warm yellow-orange serving ware. These colors pop and compliment cool blue walls and cabinets.

Whatever your reason, cool hues in the kitchen are a definite do.

via Donna Elle Interior Design

via Steve Gambrel

via Camille Roskelly

via Better Homes & Gardens

via Better Homes & Gardens

via Better Homes & Gardens

via Living Etc. Magazine

Leave a Reply

