Chapter One: Everygirl Organizes

I wasn’t kidding when I opened this book. From the moment I walked into Barnes and Noble and laid eyes on it, I meant business. I’m not even 3 sentences into this post and already, I have a side note: If you want to jump-start a life change, visit Barnes and Noble. I found about 4 amazing books about being a business owner and aspiring manager/leader but decided to take my eagerness to succeed one step at a time, starting in my home.

Last week, Maria was one of my favorite contestants on Dancing with the Stars and the girl on E News (or Entertainment Tonight or Access Hollywood…?). This week, she’s one of my closest girlfriends and my imaginary mentor. Judge all you want, but I maintain this is much healthier than talking about Jessica Simpson, Jen Aniston, or Teresa Giudice as thought they were my actual friends.

These are a few of my real girlfriends.. The one on the left is getting marrieeed this weekend!

Chapter One:

(I actually read the Introduction first which I almost NEVER do. But I made a rule that I must read this book in order if I want to get my life in order.)

Organize your home. Here’s the opening blurb:

So far, I’ve become incredibly talented at “putting things away RIGHT AWAY” and successfully tackled the following:

  • My closet –  I now know how many and how few clothes I have. I have a lot of “clothes” but very few “outfits” and even fewer “statement pieces” and still fewer basics. *List Time!*
  • The kitchen drawers – ok, so I cheated a little here because they are normally meticulously organized, but I did have a junk-ish drawer (where we keep our Saran wrap, foil, and baggies) which is now immaculate, functional, stocked, and simplified. Oh yes.
  • The Dining Room console table junk drawer from hell – Now I would consider opening this drawer in front of others to grab a pen.
  • My book shelves in the living room – paired down, refreshed, re-arranged. ZEN.
  • The drawer in our side table in the living room
  • My nightstand drawer
  • The DVD baskets
  • My brand new linen closet!

In progress:

  • Our mail bins and filing
  • Shredder purchase (for papers from before we were married, like .. why? that was so over 3 years ago!)
  • Steamer purchase (for clothing)
  • Finding the perfect shoe rack (Ikea, you failed me on this one!)
  • Finding matching, flocked hangers so my silky, drape-y shirts and dresses don’t slip off (Ikea, once again…thanks for nothing!)

What I still need to work on:

  • Under the bed – This is where we keep collapsible duffel bags, rogue socks, bobby pins, and our family of dust bunnies. I want it to be where we keep nothing at all.
  • My dresser – This is cleaned out monthly and is so orderly it has bins in the drawers, but I’m also focusing on re-stocking it.
  • The kitchen cabinets
  • Our 3rd floor closet – I paired it down last winter, but until I can name 75% of its contents, it’s clutter.
  • My office/studio
  • My sewing supplies/fabric
  • The pile o’ give away stuff by the front door – Scheduled for pick-up October 30th! Yay!
  • The medicine cabinet – this, like the kitchen gets outta hand!
  • The ENTIRE MIDDLE BEDROOM OF HELL!
  • The basement <faints>
  • The “attic” <re-faints>

I must say, accomplishing this has been amazing. I feel more energized, motivated, responsive, responsible, aware, and clean. Everything is becoming simplified (not that it was ridiculous). It was both odd and freeing to completely empty my junk drawer last month. I wanted to superglue it shut so I couldn’t stash things, but then I wouldn’t be able to open it and see nothing but air.

One thought on “Chapter One: Everygirl Organizes

  1. Pingback: Chapter Two: Everygirl’s Office « Fresh Cut Spaces

Leave a Reply

